top of page

Atoms for Peace Bio

Atoms For Peace is an experimental rock and electronic supergroup formed in late 2009 in Los Angeles, California. The group consists of Radiohead lead singer Thom Yorke (vocals, guitar, and piano), Red Hot Chili Peppers bassist Flea, longtime Radiohead producer Nigel Godrich (keyboards, synthesisers, guitars), Joey Waronker of Beck and R.E.M. (drums) and Brazilian instrumentalist Mauro Refosco (percussion) of Forro in the Dark. Their debut album, Amok, was released on February 25, 2013.

The line-up had their first live performance at the Echoplex in Los Angeles on October 2, 2009, where they played the entirety of Thom Yorke's solo debut album, The Eraser, as well as some new songs and Radiohead B-side "Paperbag Writer". This was followed by two shows at Orpheum Theatre on October 4–5.

The band went on a two-week, eight-date tour of some major cities in the United States with opening act Flying Lotus during April 2010 before their performance at the 2010 Coachella Festival, known only as "??????".

Atoms for Peace performed a song which Thom Yorke noted as being "the band's first official collaborative song" at Roseland Ballroom on April 5, 2010. That song, titled "Judge, Jury and Executioner", was debuted October 2, 2009, when the band played their first shows in Los Angeles. That song's title is partially shared with the Radiohead song "Myxomatosis. (Judge, Jury, and Executioner.)".

Following the Coachella festival, Atoms for Peace performed at Fuji Rock 2010, the band's only performance to date outside the United States.

In an interview on September 21, 2011, Thom revealed that he and Flea were finishing off an album together. Flea has additionally mentioned this album in interview, and Nigel Godrich has been confirmed as producer. On September 6, 2012, Atoms for Peace released the single "Default" on iTunes, as well as presenting a new official website. The album is titled Amok and was released on February 25, 2013, through XL Recordings.

In February 2013, Pohoda Festival and Melt! Festival announced that Atoms for Peace will be headlining both festivals, these concerts being the second and third non-U.S. appearance of the band. The same month, the band released a video for the song, "Ingenue", from Amok. The video features Yorke dancing with contemporary dancer Fukiko Takase.

In March 2013, Red Hot Chili Peppers drummer Chad Smith confirmed that Flea plans to tour with Atoms for Peace and will also be joined by Chili Peppers touring percussionist, Mauro Refosco, on the tour. The band plans to tour from July to November 2013, with over twenty dates scheduled throughout the world. The tour also will delay work on the Chili Peppers eleventh studio album.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
bottom of page